Thirteen years gone by since Rally Italia landed in Sardinia and many considered it a difficult project, that wouldn’t last too long and that would not be able to guarantee this event to remain in the WRC Championship. Since then there were years of hard work, years that have seen in the front row the Automobile Club d’Italia, and me as its President, committed not only to save the WRC validity, but to make everyone understand that this was
a big project, which had turned into an extraordinary event, one of the world’s best as far as concern technical qualities , definitely the best as far as the beauty of the places and the logistics in general.

An important undertaking that saw us always accompanied by Region Sardinia that, in all these years, never failed to give its essential support, and by a group of local enthusiasts who have contributed, with their knowledge and their professionalism, to give strength to the race. With them also the local Institutions that supported us with suggestions and information.

On the eve of this new edition I can only express my heartfelt thanks to all those who help make this race a major event of sport, culture, tourism. A welcome finally to fans, drivers, teams and professionals in general. For many will be a coming back looking for unique sensations that they’ve already tried, for others a discovery and a new way to experience this wonderful sport that sees them still starring in their respective roles.

To All the Automobile Club d’Italia give its warmest welcome.

Angelo Sticchi Damiani
President of Automobile Club d’Italia

Roll of Honour

2015 Sardegna Ogier – Ingrassia FRA Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2014 Sardegna Ogier – Ingrassia FRA Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2013 Sardegna Ogier – Ingrassia FRA Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2012 Sardegna Hirvonen – Lehtinen FIN Citroën DS3 WRC
2011 Sardegna Loeb – Elena FRA – MCO Citroën DS3 WRC
2010 Sardegna Hanninen – Markkula FIN Skoda Fabia S2000
2009 Sardegna Latvala – Anttila FIN Ford Focus WRC 2009
2008 Sardegna Loeb – Elena FRA – MCO Citroën C4 WRC
2007 Sardegna Grönholm – Rautiainen FIN Ford Focus WRC
2006 Sardegna Loeb – Elena FRA – MCO Citroën Xsara WRC
2005 Sardegna Loeb – Elena FRA – MCO Citroën Xsara WRC
2004 Sardegna P. Solberg – Mills NOR – GBR Subaru Impreza WRC
2003 Sanremo Loeb – Elena FRA – MCO Citroën Xsara WRC
2002 Sanremo G. Panizzi – H. Panizzi FRA Peugeot 206 WRC
2001 Sanremo G. Panizzi – H. Panizzi FRA Peugeot 206 WRC
2000 Sanremo G. Panizzi – H. Panizzi FRA Peugeot 206 WRC
1999 Sanremo Makinen – Mannisenmaki FIN Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI
1998 Sanremo Makinen – Mannisenmaki FIN Mitsubishi Lancer Evo V
1997 Sanremo C. McRae – Grist GBR Subaru Impreza 555 WRC
1996 Sanremo C. McRae – Ringer GBR Subaru Impreza 555
1995 Sanremo Liatti – Alessandrini ITA Subaru Impreza
1994 Sanremo Auriol – Occelli FRA Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD
1993 Sanremo Cunico – Evangelisti ITA Ford Escort Cosworth
1992 Sanremo Aghini – Farnocchia ITA Lancia Delta HF Integrale
1991 Sanremo Auriol – Occelli FRA Lancia Delta Integrale 16v
1990 Sanremo Auriol – Occelli FRA Lancia Delta Integrale 16v
1989 Sanremo Biasion – Siviero ITA Lancia Delta HF 16v
1988 Sanremo Biasion – Siviero ITA Lancia Delta Integrale
1971 Sanremo-Sestriere Andersson – Nasch SWE Alpine Renault A 110 1600S
1970 Sanremo-Sestriere Therrier – Callewaert FRA Alpine Renault A 110 1600S

Event presentation

Rally Italia Sardegna, the sixth round of the rally world championship, is going to change again its look for edition 2016 that is scheduled from 9 to 12 June. The race will be staged in the north-west part of the island in the provinces of Sassari and Olbia-Tempio. The tricolored appointment of the world rally championship will be once again full of novelties. The draft itinerary of the race organized by Aci Sport in collaboration with Regione Sardegna features 19 stages for a total of 325 timed kilometers.

The thirteenth edition of the race confirmed the main venue of the event that will be again located in Alghero, for the third time in a row. The new 4.28km long shakedown in Olmedo-Monte Baranta and the new stages of Tula and Sassari-Argentiera are going to be the absolute novelties of this year, while the SS Castelsardo and Tergu-Osilo will be back part of the race. The opening super special stage of 2 km on Thursday evening will take place at the Ittiri Arena Show due to the success scored last year. As said, Alghero will house service park again, which will be set up in between the touristic harbour, the “ramblas” and Piazzale della Pace, while press office, race direction and the headquarters of the event will be located In the prestigious Lu Qualté.

THE RACE. After the super special stage of Ittiri on Thursday evening, the crews will continue with the first leg on Friday 10 June. Day one will schedule eight stages (four repeated twice) located in the zones of Logudoro and Anglona for a total of 102,76 timed kms. After the two stages of Ardara-Ozieri (km 7,50) and the new SS of Tula (km 15), drivers will have to go through the Castelsardo (km 14) and Tergu-Osilo (km 14,88) stages before heading back to Alghero for the mid day service park. They will repeat the same stages in the afternoon, ending day one in Alghero at 19hrs.

Day two will take place on Saturday 11 June. This is going to be the longest and toughest of the whole race. Six stages will cover a total of 177 timed kms located in the Monte Acuto region. The day will open with the Monti di Alà (km 21,20) stage that will be followed by Coiluna-Loelle (km 22,50) and by the classic Monte Lerno, that will be again the longest of the event with its 44 kms. After Alghero’s service park, the crews will run a second loop of the same stages in the afternoon and the day will reach its conclusion in Alghero at 20.46hrs.

The final leg of the race will take place on Sunday 12 June. The four scheduled stages will span a total of 43,54 timed kms in two loops of the new Sassari-Argentiera (km 10) and of Cala Flumini stage (km 11,77), which will be the power stage again this year. The power stage will go live on TV all over the world. The grand finale with the prize ceremony in Alghero’s harbour will take place at 13.45hrs.


Rally Guide 1, published in the month of February 2016 has no regulatory power. It is a document produced for all Teams, Competitors and Media representatives to prepare in advance the Italian round of the 2016 FIA World Rally Championship. Any further updates will be published on the website